Meet Maestro Nash
Meet the Orchestra
Staff Directory
Board of Trustees
CSO News
Job Opportunities
Annual Report

Royston Nash was appointed Music Director and Conductor of the Cape Symphony Orchestra in 1980. He holds a similar position with the Nashua (NH) Symphony Orchestra.

A native of Bournemouth, England, Royston Nash studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London. He was presented with the Certificate of Merit for Conducting in 1957. His mentors included Rudolph Kempe, Constantine Silvestri and Sir Malcolm Sargent. Mr. Nash has conducted extensively in Britain, Denmark, Germany, Holland and Italy. In the 1970s he toured the United States as conductor of the D’Oyly Carte Opera Company. Eight recordings with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra have won him wide acclaim here and abroad.

Royston Nash was founder and until 1995, Music Director and Conductor of Symphony by the Sea. He also served as Music Director and Conductor of the Cape Ann Symphony Orchestra from 1980 until 1986 and Conductor at the Boston Conservatory of Music in 1985 and 1986. Maestro Nash makes his home on Cape Cod.

Violin I
Penelope Wayne-Shapiro, Concertmaster, Mary A. and Edward A. Bigelow Chair, in perpetuity
Sarita Uranovsky, Asst. Concertmaster, Leona and Milton Penn Chair
Nikola Takov
Linda Hanley
Grace Strake
Svitlana Kovalenko
Martha Potter Kim
Pierre D’Archambeau
Deborah Teel Bradley
Gabrielle van der Merwe-Stebbins
Sue-Ying Koang
Reda Slizauskaite
Bonnie Bearse

Violin II
Caroline Mitchell, Principal, The Gelsthorpe Family Chair, in perpetuity
Lawrence Chaplan, Marion Jordan Memorial Chair, in perpetuity
Igor Cherevko
Viktoria Tchertchian
Mikhail Korsunsky
Kaede Kobayashi-Kirker
Karen LeMoine
Kristine Berger Viprino
Norma Stiner
Melissa Carter
Raymond Melanson
Kimberly Brayton

Robert Coleman, Principal, Marion Witmer Putnam Memorial Chair, in perpetuity
Susan W. Gable
Diane Irion
Linda Houle
Gordon Jones
Lawrence Johnson
Yu Guang Chen
Irina Naryshkova
Jing-Huey Wei

Bo Ericsson, Principal, Robert M. Heberton Chair, in perpetuity
Elizabeth Schultze
Millard Irion
Michael Czitrom
Alexander Badalov
Sandy Spencer
Christopher J. Kerins
Norma J. Kelley
Andrea N. Meagher
Martina M. Pesanelli
Matthew Pierce

Carion Chu, Principal, The Wick Family Chair, in perpetuity
Judy Yaldatel
Robert A. Domos
Ira M. Schaefer
David F. Brayton
Michael Ryle
Paul D. Vaterlaus
Phoebe Butler

Claude Cobert, Principal, Lyndon Paul Lorusso Memorial Chair, in perpetuity
Mariellen Sears

Wendy Rolfe

Elizabeth Mitnik Doriss, Principal, Lyndon Paul Lorusso Memorial Chair, in perpetuity
John F. Clark

English Horn
Laura Pardee

Mark Miller, Principal, Pauline and John Sonderegger Chair, in perpetuity
Janice Murphy Smith

Bass Clarinet
Michael S. Monte

David C. Gallagher, Principal, The Pratt-Gallagher Chair
Ken Fukuhara

Contra Bassoon
Leo Kenen

Daniel Bloor, Principal, Willem A. Valkenier Chair, in perpetuity
Amy S. Tracy, Carter Willsey Memorial Chair
Cynthia Brown
Cynthia E. DeBellis

Philip Hague, Principal, Michael Joseph Julian Memorial Chair, in perpetuity
Tobias Monte
Halward M. Blegen

Roy N. Campbell, Principal, Friends of the Cape Symphony Orchestra Chair
H. Cully Beasley
George J. Scharr

Stuart Hall Gunn, Principal

Mark Prall, Principal, The Nickerson Companies Chair

Philip Banner, Principal, The Newkirk Family Chair
Charles H. Kohnfelder, Roland and Dorothy Smith Memorial Chair, in perpetuity
Paul Gross

Donald H. Enos, The Wesley DeLacy Chair

Sandra Bittermann, Principal, Carl and Bettina Sonderegger Chair

Librarian: Aileen Domos

Stage Manager: Christopher Adams
Stage Crew: David Billings, Deirdre Paster, David Thomas, Christopher Page

Return to top